Readalikes for The Bridgertons

Readalikes for Julia Quinn’s Bridgerton Series

The Bridgerton series begins with The Duke & I, The Viscount Who Loved Me, An Offer from a Gentleman, and Romancing Mr. Bridgerton. Four others follow, along with three collections of novellas.

If you’re waiting to read some of the Bridgerton books, try these prequels first:

Because of Miss Bridgerton, The Girl with the Make-Believe Husband, The Other Miss Bridgerton, and First Comes Scandal. These are about the Rokesbys, the generation before the eight Bridgerton siblings.

Regency Romances

Ashley, Jennifer. A MacKenzie Clan Christmas

Balogh, Mary. The Proposal, A Matter of Class, A Very Special Christmas

Beverley, Jo. Forbidden, The Rogue’s Return, To Rescue a Rogue, The Secret Wedding

Britton, Christina. A Good Duke is Hard to Find

Byrne, Kerrigan. All Scot and Bothered, How to Love the Duke in Ten Days

Chase, Loretta. Ten Things I Hate About a Duke

Coulter, Catherine. The Sherbrooke Bride, The Sherbrooke Twins

Darcy, Clare. A Regency Trio

Dare, Tessa. Any Duchess Will Do, The Wallflower Wager

Enoch, Suzanne. Hit Me with Your Best Scot, Scot Under the Covers

Heath, Lorraine. Beyond Scandal and Desire, The Earl Takes a Fancy

Heyer, Georgette. The Convenient Marriage, Cotillion, False Colours, Frederica,  The Grand Sophy, Venetia

James, Eloisa. My Last Duchess, Say Yes to the Duke

Jordan, Sophie. The Duke Effect, The Duke’s Stolen Bride

Kelly, Carla. Libby’s London Merchant, Marian’s Christmas Wish, Miss Chartley’s Guided Tour, One Good Turn, Summer Campaign, The Unlikely Master Genius

Kleypas, Lisa. Chasing Cassandra, Devil in Spring, A Wallflower Christmas

Leigh, Eva. My Fake Rake, Would I Lie to the Duke?

Lorret, Vivienne. Lord Holt Takes a Bride, My Kind of Earl

MacLean, Sarah. Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake, Ten Ways to Be Adored When Landing a Lord, Daring and the Duke, The Day of the Duchess, How the Dukes Stole Christmas, Wicked and the Wallflower

Quick, Amanda. I Thee Wed, Wicked Widow

Quincy, Diana. Her Night with the Duke

Quinn, Ella. The Marquis and I, The Most Eligible Lord in London

Riley, Vanessa. The Duke, the Lady, and a Baby

Sebastian, Cat. Two Rogues Make a Right

Spencer, Minerva. Notorious

Waite, Olivia. The Care and Feeding of Waspish Widows

Waters, Martha. To Have and to Hoax

Regency Anthologies

How the Dukes Stole Christmas

A Homespun Regency Christmas

Joy to the World: A Regency Christmas Collection

The Last Chance Christmas Ball

Seduction on a Snowy Night

Victorian Era Romances

Dunmore, Evie. Bringing Down the Duke, A Rogue of One’s Own

Garwood, Julie. For the Roses

Shupe, Joanna. A Daring Arrangement, The Devil of Downtown, The Prince of Broadway, The Rogue of Fifth Avenue

 

Happy reading!

Brenda

Favorite Reads of 2020

Favorite Books We Read in 2020

These are some of the best, most enjoyable, or most memorable books we read this year.

Fiction

A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman (Korey)

The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett (Chris)

Peace Talks by Jim Butcher (Brenda)

Resurgence; Divergence by C.J. Cherryh (Brenda)

Finna by Nino Cipri (Denise)

Well Played by Jen DeLuca (Brenda)

Race the Sands by Sarah Beth Durst (Katie)

The Death of Vivek Oji by Akwaeke Emezi (Chris)

Mother Land by Leah Franqui (Brenda)

Less by Andrew Sean Greer (Meghan)

A Time for Mercy by John Grisham (George)

The Midnight Library by Matt Haig (Chris)

V2: A Novel of World War II by Robert Harris (Chris)

The Resisters by Gish Jen (Chris)

Simon the Fiddler by Paulette Jiles (Brenda)

Vanessa Yu’s Magical Paris Tea Shop by Roselle Lim (Brenda)

A Burning by Megha Majumdar (Chris)

Red, White & Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston (Korey)

A Royal Affair by Allison Montclair (Brenda)

The Tourist Attraction by Sarah Morgenthaler (Brenda)

Nothing to See Here by Kevin Wilson (Brenda)

The End of October by Lawrence Wright (George)

The Narrowboat Summer by Anne Youngson (Brenda)

Nonfiction

Your Hidden Superpower by Adrienne Bankert (Chris)

No Time Like the Future: An Optimist Considers Mortality by Michael J. Fox (George)

Fire in Paradise: An American Tragedy by Alastair Gee and Danie Anguiano (George)

Surviving Autocracy by Masha Gessen (Chris)

Haben: The Deafblind Woman Who Conquered Harvard Law by Haben Girma (Brenda)

Always Day One by Alex Kantrowitz (Chris)

Hidden Valley Road by Robert Kolker (Debbie)

The Biggest Bluff: How I Learned to Pay Attention, Master Myself, and Win by Maria Konnikova (Chris)

The Last Stargazers by Emily Levesque (Brenda)

Underland: A Deep Time Journey by Robert MacFarlane (Brenda)

Mudlark: In Search of London’s Past Along the River Thames by Lara Maiklem (George)

Agent Sonya: Moscow’s Most Daring Wartime Spy by Ben McIntyre (Chris)

Life’s Great Question: Discover How You Contribute to the World by Tom Rath (Chris)

How the South Won the Civil War: Oligarchy, Democracy, and the Continuing Fight for the Soul of America by Heather Cox Richardson (Chris)

The Smallest Lights in the Universe by Sara Seager (Brenda)

Owls of the Eastern Ice: A Quest to Find and Save the World’s Largest Owl by Jonathan C. Slaght (George)

Teen Fiction

The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo (Korey)

The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta (Korey)

Felix Ever After by Kacen Callender (Korey)

Camp by Lev AC Rosen (Chris)

Scythe by Neal Shusterman (Brenda)

Illustrated Novels and Manga

Fangs by Sarah Anderson (Denise)

Silver Spoon by Hiromu Arakawa (Katie)

My Hero Academia by Kōhei Horikoshi (Denise)

The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse by Charlie Mackesy (Chris)

Our Dining Table by Ori Mita (Denise)

Pumpkinheads by Rainbow Rowell (Korey)

You Brought Me the Ocean by Alex Sanchez (Chris)

Audiobooks

The Falcon Always Wings Twice by Donna Andrews (Brenda)

7 Habits of Highly Effective People by Stephen Covey (Chris)

The Power of Vulnerability by Brene Brown (Chris)

Unf#ck Your Brain by Faith Harper (Chris)

Around the Way Girl by Taraji P. Henson (Katie)

A Very Punchable Face by Colin Jost (Katie)

The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien, read by Rob Inglis (Katie)

Sigh, Gone by Phuc Tran (Katie)

Heartwarming Holiday Stories

Here’s a virtual display of some of the many winter holiday novels and stories we have on shelf. For curbside pickup of some heartwarming reads, place a hold, call us or email and we’ll help you select some titles.

Here’s a list of more holiday books published in 2020:

Lady Louisa’s Christmas Knight by Grace Burrowes

A Dog’s Perfect Christmas by W. Bruce Cameron

Her Christmas Cowboy by Jessica Clare

Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan

Gingerdead Man by Maya Corrigan

A Very Merry Christmas by Melinda Curtis

Holding Out for Christmas by Janet Dailey

Heart of Gold by B.J. Daniels

Christmas Cupcake Murder by Joanne Fluke

A Garland of Bones by Carolyn Haines

The Widow’s Christmas Surprise by Jenna Jaxon

An Ivy Hill Christmas by Julie Klassen

Jingle All the Way by Debbie Macomber

Happily This Christmas by Susan Mallery

Christmas on Reindeer Road by Debbie Mason

Christmas Card Murder by Leslie Meier, Lee Hollis and Peggy Erhart

The Brightest Star by Fern Michaels

The Gift of Family by Mary Monroe

One More for Christmas by Sarah Morgan

A Christmas Resolution by Anne Perry

Christmas Carol Murder by Heather Redmond

Joy to the Wolves by Terry Spear

Four Christmas Matchmakers by Cathy Gillen Thacker

The Christmas Table by Donna VanLiere

Mrs. Morris and the Ghost of Christmas Past by Traci Wilton

Happy holiday reading! Brenda

 

 

Fall Reading

What I’m Reading Now

I’m currently reading several different books. It’s an eclectic assortment of titles, that I’m reading at home, at work, and in between. I don’t finish all the books I start, but these are keeping my interest so far.

I have skimmed a digital review copy of Zoë Bakes Cakes by Zoë Francois, which will be published in March. Zoe is the coauthor of The New Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day. I don’t bake many cakes, but the photos look appealing and there are recipes for bundt cakes as well as fancier layer cakes.

I am almost done reading Ancestral Night by Elizabeth Bear, a long science fiction novel. I’m reading this on my breaks at work.

Fun, lighter reads for my current mood include The Case of the Curious Crystals by Shanna Swendson, Well Met by Jen DeLuca, and Cat Me If You Can by Miranda James. These make enjoyable reading at home. I’ve read other books by these authors, so they are a sure bet. I’m also listening to the audiobook An Amish Christmas by Amy Clipston, mostly during my commute.

At work I’m also reading Musical Chairs, by Amy Poeppel, a contemporary novel about the founding members of a musical trio. This is a book I’m considering for a future book discussion.

Another review copy is Ms. Adventure: My Wild Explorations in Science, Lava, and Life by Jess Phoenix, a memoir by a woman geologist/volcanologist. Science memoirs have been great escapist and informative reading for me this year. This will be published next March.

 

Up Next

I will reread The Bookish Life of Nina Hill by Abbi Waxman, for an upcoming library book discussion. For consideration for a future book discussion, I will read or listen to In Five Years by Rebecca Serle.

I plan to read The A.B.C. Murders by Agatha Christie. I’m creating a book display for the 100th anniversary of the first Agatha Christie mystery, The Mysterious Affair at Styles. I haven’t read many of her mysteries featuring Hercule Poirot, and this one is recommended.

I’m looking forward to reading a new fantasy novella by Lois McMaster Bujold, Masquerade in Lodi. Bujold is one of my favorite science fiction and fantasy authors.

A couple of review copies I want to read include Animal, Vegetable, Junk: A History of Food by Mark Bittman and Project Hail Mary, a science fiction novel by Andy Weir, author of The Martian, to be published next May.

That’s a lot of books, even for me! What’s on your list of books to read?

Brenda

Frightfully Good Mysteries

 Halloween Mysteries

The Crystal Cave Trilogy by Susan Wittig Albert

Howloween Murder by Laurien Berenson

15 Minutes of Flame by Christin Brecher

Murder in the Bayou Boneyard by Ellen Byron

Fudge Bites by Nancy Coco

Dressed to Kill by Kathleen Delaney

Death of a Wicked Witch and Haunted House Murder by Lee Hollis

Shatter the Night by Emily Littlejohn

Murder in the Corn Maze by G. A. McKevett

McPherson, Catriona. Scot & Soda by Catriona McPherson

Halloween Murder by Leslie Meier

Mrs. Morris and the Witch by Traci Wilton 

 

Three Mysteries

A Divided Loyalty by Charles Todd, Grey Mask by Patricia Wentworth, & Trouble in Nuala by Harriet Steel

Travel back in time with me to three mysteries set in the 1920s and 1930s. In 1921, Inspector Ian Rutledge travels to Avebury in Wiltshire, to investigate a death by a standing stone, part of the largest stone circle in England. Since then, many more of the stones have been uncovered, but even then it was apparently an uncanny place. Rutledge, having solved a similar crime in Shropshire, is asked to take over Chief Inspector Brian Leslie’s case. When some new evidence, painstakingly discovered, contradicts Leslie’s report, Rutledge has to decide where his loyalty lies. There are many twists and turns along the way, an atmospheric setting, and even a pursuit at night on horseback. One of the best in this long-running series.

In 1929, Charles Moray has come home to England to his inherited house, only to hear voices and see a light in the supposedly vacant house. His former fiancée Margaret, is mixed up in a gang of criminals, but is willing to help Charles save the life of a lovely but naïve young girl, Margot. This is the first mystery featuring Miss Maud Silver, retired governess turned sleuth, and the mystery was suspenseful and fast-paced. I found the book hard to put down, surprising me as this book was published in 1929. Perhaps a new mystery with a similar setting and plot would have more violence, but maybe not. Miss Silver was a contemporary of Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple, but is not as well known.
The first Inspector de Silva mystery is set in Ceylon, now Sri Lanka, in the 1930s. Shanti de Silva is enjoying his work in the town of Nuala, driving his Morris car and picnicking with his wife, until a complaint is made against an English tea plantation owner, and then a body is found at the plantation. Shanti’s wife Jane, a former governess, befriends the plantation owner’s wife. A lovely setting, a cricket game, and some fine detecting add to the reader’s pleasure. Dark Clouds Over Nuala is the next book in the series.
I enjoyed all three mysteries, and plan to read more by these authors.
Brenda

 

New Books! Available Now with Curbside Pickup

Since you can’t browse the bookstacks at the library right now, I took some pictures with my phone this morning. Lots of new titles and books you may have missed this spring are available now for Woodridge library cardholders. Just place a hold, call us at the Adult & Teen Services Reference Desk at 630-487-2577 or email us at askus@woodridgelibrary.org. We are always happy to suggest titles you might enjoy. Happy reading! Brenda

Here are some new cookbooks:

New mysteries include titles by Jeffery Deaver, Alexander McCall Smith, Sara Paretsky, Anne Perry, Ian Rankin, and Deanna Raybourn

New Fiction, with titles by Anne Enright, Lori Foster,Carol Goodman, Heather Gudenkauf, Quan Barry, Stephen King and many more.

Romantic Comedies

Our Summer Reading Program, Book Your Backyard Adventure, begins today. If you’re in the mood for something light and entertaining, here’s a list of new and forthcoming rom-coms, or romantic comedies. Sounds good to me right now.

Romantic Comedies

Undercover Bromance by Lyssa Kay Adams
Conventionally Yours by Annabeth Albert
Recipe for Persuasion by Sonali Dev
The Two-Date Rule by Tawna Fensker
Party of Two by Jasmine Guillory
Beach Read by Emily Henry
Take a Hint, Dani Brown, by Talia Hibbert
The Happy Ever After Playlist by Abby Jimenez
The Honey-Don’t List by Christina Lauren
Girl Gone Viral by Alisha Rai
The Boyfriend Project by Farrah Rochon
Ghosting: A Love Story by Tash Skilton
A Highlander in a Pickup by Laura Trentham
Something to Talk About by Meryl Wilsner

Happy reading! Brenda

Small Town Life

Small Town Life

These are novels set in small towns, usually with a contemporary setting, many featuring a woman coming home again to start over, often with strong female friendships, and a bit of romance. Character driven, these books are usually heartwarming or cheerful in tone. All of these titles are available at the library and at Media on Demand.

The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend by Katarina Bivald
The Happy Camper by Melody Carlson
Country Guesthouse by Robyn Carr
The Bookshop on the Corner by Jenny Colgan
The Wedding Shop by Rachel Hauck
Now That You Mention It by Kristan Higgins
At Home in Mitford by Jan Karon
Alaskan Holiday by Debbie Macomber
Sisters by Choice by Susan Mallery
Herons Landing by JoAnn Ross
Almost Just Friends by Jill Shalvis
Sea Glass Cottage by RaeAnne Thayne

Enjoy! Brenda

 

Family Friends Reads

Family Friendly Reads

These are books kids, teens, and adults may all enjoy. Read together, by yourself, or listen to a downloadable audiobook. All titles are available from our Overdrive/Libby collection Media on Demand.

The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall
Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus (Aven Green #1) by Dusti Bowling
The War That Saved My Life; The War I Finally Won by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
The Wild Robot and The Wild Robot Escapes by Peter Brown
Beezus and Ramona (Ramona Quimby #1) and The Mouse and the Motorcycle by Beverly Cleary
The BFG; Charlie and the Chocolate Factory; Matilda by Roald Dahl
Blended by Sharon Draper
The Ruins of Gorlan (Ranger’s Apprentice #1) by John Flanagan
Space Case (Moon Base Alpha #1) by Stuart Gibbs
The Inquisitor’s Tale by Adam Gidwitz
Home Sweet Motel (Welcome to Wonderland #1) by Chris Grabenstein
Refugee by Alan Gratz
A Few Red Drops: The Chicago Race Riot of 1919 by Claire Hartfield
Midsummer’s Mayhem by Rajani LaRocca
A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle
Pippi Longstocking (Pippi Longstocking #1) by Astrid Lindgren
Mrs. Piggle Wiggle by Betty MacDonald
The False Prince (Ascendance #1); Resistance by Jennifer A. Nielsen
Wonder by R. J. Palacio
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (Harry Potter #1) by J.K. Rowling
Amal Unbound by Aisha Saeed
The Blackthorn Key (The Blackthorn Key #1) by Kevin Sands
Dealing with Dragons (Enchanted Forest #1) by Patricia Wrede

Brenda, along with Jane, Elizabeth, and Mary Ann of the Children’s Department