Readalikes for The Shoemaker’s Wife

The Big Read Selection for 2013 is The Shoemaker’s Wife by Adriana Trigiani, a novel about Italian American immigrants in the early 1900s. Here are some more novels you might enjoy:

Alcott, Kate. The Dressmaker.  Titanic survivor in New York City.

Cohen, Paula. Gramercy Park.  Set in the 1890s, famous Italian tenor rents house near Gramercy Park while singing at the Metropolitan Opera, falls in love.

Duenas, Maria. The Time in Between.  Spanish fashion designer stranded in 1930s Morocco, opens dress shop.

Forster, E.M. A Room With a View.  Written and set in early 1900s, an Italian pensione caters to British tourists.

Gentle, Mary. The Black Opera.  Nineteenth century Italy, opera librettist.

Mazzucoo, Melania. Vita.  Two children from southern Italy try to survive in New York City’s Little Italy in 1903.

McDonnell, Adrienne. The Doctor and the Diva.  Early 1900s opera singer seeks treatment for infertility.

Mignola, Mike and Christopher Golden. Father Gaetano’s Puppet Catechism.  Young priest teaches orphans at a convent during World War II, redesigns old handcrafted puppets to tell Bible stories, but the puppets come to life in this horror novella.

Moser, Nancy. An Unlikely Suitor.  Italian American dressmakers in 19th century NYC and Newport, Rhode Island.

Olafsson, Olaf. Restoration.  Set in Tuscany in 1944.

Pezzelli, Peter. Home to Italy.  Recently widowed Peppi returns to his native Italian village and finds that his old friend and fellow mountain biker Luca now owns a candy factory run by his lovely daughter Lucrezia.

Russell, Mary Doria. A Thread of Grace.  Northern Italy in the 1930s and 1940s. Many thousands of Jewish refugees fled here during World War II.

Schoenewaldt, Pamela. When We Were strangers.  Italian American immigrant finds work as seamstress in 1880s Cleveland and Chicago.

Trigiani, Adriana. Lucia, Lucia.  Italian American seamstress looks back on her life in NYC.

Trigiani, Adriana. Very Valentine.  Family owned shoe company in New York City, started in 1903 by Italian American immigrants.

Walters, Jess. Beautiful Ruins.  1960 Italy and modern day United States.

Brenda



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s