Iron Druid series

The Iron Druid Series by Kevin Hearne

A series about the last living Druid who has spent most of his 2,000 years avoiding an angered god by moving constantly and leaving behind everyone he cares about other than a goddess of death may sound dark and gritty. But when the Druid is Atticus O’Sullivan, you’re in for a lot of action, laughs, and tugging of heart-strings. Hounded introduces Atticus and his current life in Tempe, Arizona. He owns a rare book store where he also serves up specialty tea blends to his customers. They don’t know that there’s a bit of magic that makes his Mobili-tea really help with their aches and pains and they certainly don’t know that Immortali-tea has kept him looking like a man in his early 20s for 2,000 years. He’s also been giving the tea to his Irish wolfhound Oberon who he shares a telepathic bond with thanks to Druid bindings. Oberon is a riot and he helps Atticus stay upbeat as well as stay alive in fights. Atticus has learned to treasure life’s small pleasures and he truly cares for the people close to him while he can be with them. He mows the lawn of the widow MacDonagh and looks after her like a dedicated son and her spirit and acceptance when she finds out he’s not just a kind young man help keep him going.

Atticus’ troubles stem from a long-ago conflict with the Celtic god of love, Aenghus Og. He moves around to avoid the god and to keep his friends from being caught in the crossfire. Atticus would rather avoid a fight and until the events in Hounded he’s mostly been able to do that. In his travels, he’s learned more about Druidic magic and is able to bind cold iron—which repels most magic—to his aura and has crafted a number of charms to help him out of tight spots. But eventually his connections to allies and friends lead him down a road to a confrontation with Aenghus Og as well as witches, werewolves, and Norse gods. The Iron Druid has to deal with no longer being unknown, the eventuality of leaving a town (and his friends and store) that he loves, and the possibility of taking on an apprentice and doubling the number of Druids in the world.

The series started out as three books released in three months and has happily been picked up for at least another three. I really enjoyed how Kevin Hearne brought so many mythologies into modern times. Atticus doesn’t often come off as an old man, but more frequently as the 20something he looks like. As the series goes on, Atticus stops being so flippant and we start to see him acknowledge what he’s lost over the years and how he has to cope to move on. Those dark times are needed to show he isn’t totally shallow but they’re thankfully rare. It leaves more time for action, silliness, and for supporting characters to shine.

If you’re a fan of Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files, Neil Gaiman’s American Gods, or urban fantasy at all, you’ll want to give the Iron Druid series a try.


One thought on “Iron Druid series

  1. I like your review of this series, it let me know what I already thought…that, whether these stories are any good or not, I need to stay away for now fearing they will influence my own work in a novel of similar genre. Thanks for putting this up.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s