Written in My Own Heart’s Blood

Written in My Own Heart’s Blood by Diana Gabaldon   heart's blood jacket

Book eight in the Outlander series is over 800 pages long. I didn’t really mind, because it’s been five years since the previous book, Echo in the Bone, was published, and I needed a while to catch up on the storylines and characters. Much of the book is set in and around Philadelphia in 1778. No one wants to be in the war, but Jamie Fraser is asked by George Washington to be a colonel. Lord John Grey might lose the sight in one eye after Jamie punches him, or he might be arrested as a spy. Jamie’s wife Claire, a time traveler from the mid 20th century, is practicing medicine with 18th century supplies. Jamie’s nephew Ian, part Scot and part Mohawk, is in love with Quaker Rachel, whose brother, a physician, loves John Grey’s niece. Jamie and Claire’s daughter Brianna is in Scotland with her family in 1980, until son Jem goes missing and her husband Roger MacKenzie travels back in time and meets Jamie’s father, and his own. Another family connection, William, rescues Jane and her little sister Fanny from a brothel. Most of the storylines end up with Jamie and family back in North Carolina, rebuilding their family home. At least one more book is planned. Adventure, romance, history, and time travel continue to enliven this series, which began with Outlander, soon to be a television series.

Brenda


The Queen of the Tearling

The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen   queen jacket

Princess Kelsea has been raised in isolation in the northern forest by her elderly guardians since her mother’s death eighteen years ago. The Queen’s Guards arrive on her 19th birthday to take her home to claim her throne, if they can keep her alive on the journey. A magical sapphire necklace she wears helps, but it doesn’t tell Kelsea who she can trust, or keep her from being injured. The nearby kingdom of Mortmesne is ruled by a sorceres, and she demands a tribute of Tearling citizens every month, or her army will invade the Tearling. Kelsea makes a bold decision to stop the tribute before she’s even crowned. This book is the first in a fantasy series set in the far future, and a movie is in development. I’m looking forward to reading Kelsea’s next adventure.

Brenda


Where Nobody Knows Your Name

baseball jacketWhere Nobody Knows Your Name: Life in the Minor Leagues of Baseball by John Feinstein

Sportswriter John Feinstein spent the 2012 season with players, managers, and umpires of baseball’s International League. Life in Triple A is vividly described, and is shown in stark contrast to the major leagues, but the athletes Feinstein meets show a real love of the game of baseball. Several players are featured, with their history of teams, accomplishments, and injuries, but you don’t get a player’s whole story all at once, and some of them blend together. Some former major league stars are featured, such as Mark Prior, Dontrelle Willis, and Scott Podsednik. Some are rehabbing from injuries, while other players have trouble adjusting to the grind that is the minor leagues. Few days off, travel by bus instead of chartered planes, and salaries that are not bad, but only a small fraction of what they’re used to. Players are more rivals than teammates, but news of a call up to the major leagues is still greeted with cheers. Cubs Hall of Fame player Ryne Sandberg has worked his way up the managing ranks of the minor leagues, and finally gets to manage the Philadelphia Phillies. His story is quite memorable, as is that of young umpire Mark Lollo, who is either going to get called up to the major leagues soon, or his contract won’t be renewed. Managing at the Triple A level can be especially challenging because of last-minute call ups of starting pitchers and catchers. Some players travel up and down the leagues so many times in a season that it seems like they’re always playing catch up in an airport trying to get to their next game, while other players wonder if they’ll ever get to bat in the major leagues. A satisfying read for sports fans.

Brenda

 


Any Duchess Will Do

duchess jacketAny Duchess Will Do by Tessa Dare

While the plot resembles Cinderella or My Fair Lady, the novel is a charming, sensual Regency romance. Griff is kidnapped by his mother and dragged to the seaside town of Spindle Cove to choose a bride, any bride. His mother will give the young woman lessons to become a perfect duchess. It turns out that his mother can’t wait any longer for grandchildren, and Griff, as a duke, is expected to have heirs. Stubborn Griff chooses none of the young ladies present, but instead Pauline Simms, a servant and a farmer’s daughter. She agrees to a week in London, and has a side bet with Griff that if she fails to become the perfect future duchess, she will return home with enough money to open a bookshop. Plenty of humor, an instant attraction between Griff and Pauline, and a dowager duchess who knits, badly, make for an enjoyable read.

Brenda


Burial Rites

burial ritesBurial Rites by Hannah Kent

I didn’t want to read this book, but I’m glad I did. The wild and lonely beauty of 1820s Iceland stars in this novel based on a true story. Two men are killed, and Agnes Magnusdottir and two others have been convicted of murder. Awaiting word from Denmark of a possible appeal, Agnes is sent to the farm of district commissioner Jon Jonsson to await her fate. Unwelcomed but treated fairly by Jon’s wife Margret and his two daughters, Agnes is put to work on the small farm. Around the hearth at night, and when a young priest, Toti, visits with her, we learn Agnes’ story. Abandoned by her mother, then left homeless when her foster mother dies, Agnes grows up as a pauper sent to work on several small farms. The murders occur at the home of her employer and lover, herbalist and sheep farmer Natan Ketilsson, a charming yet manipulative man. The cold and dark of winter on Iceland’s coast is vividly described, along with the isolation of remote farms. This is the first novel from an Australian writer who first heard of Agnes when she spent a year as an exchange student in a fishing village in Iceland. Definitely not a light or cheerful book, but a haunting, memorable novel.

Brenda

 

 


The Wind is Not a River

wind is not a river jacketThe Wind is Not a River by Brian Payton

In 1942, Helen Easley is desperate for news of her husband John, a war correspondent. He’s not on an official assignment, but may have left Seattle for Alaska. The Japanese occupy the Aleutian islands of Attu and Kiska, and there is a news blackout. Since his brother’s death in the war, John is obsessed with his work, and left after an argument with Helen. Working in a dress shop in Seattle, she moves in with her elderly father Joe. Helen manages to join the USO but feels guilty about leaving her father behind. She heads for Alaska and any word of John, trying to get over her stage fright and talking with pilots and anyone who’s been to the Aleutians. John, meanwhile, has crash landed on remote Attu with young airman Karl. They scavenge coal and live on seafood, often wet and always cold, and even consider surrendering to the Japanese occupying the island. Part adventure, part wartime love story with a very unusual setting, this is an excellent historical novel.

Brenda


A Natural History of Dragons

dragons jacketA Natural History of Dragons: A Memoir by Lady Trent by Marie Brennan

Young Isabella, daughter of Sir Daniel Hendemore of Scirland, is fascinated by tiny winged creatures known as sparklings. They are considered insects, but she wonders if they might be related to dragons. Scirland is an alternate version of Victorian era England, a fantasy version with dragons. Also, the industrial revolution is slowed by a lack of sufficient iron deposits. When she’s 17, Isabella’s father very kindly has a matchmaker draw up a list of eligible young men who might share her scholarly interests, normally discouraged in women. Isabella is fortunate in her marriage, but longs to go on an expedition to study dragons, despite the danger and discomforts of a sea voyage to snowy Vystrana. She gets her wish, in order to take notes and make detailed drawings for the expedition; her drawings are scattered throughout the book. Things go badly from the beginning, with a mystery and threats. The book is narrated by an older Isabella, so we know that she makes it back to Scirland, and her adventures are continued in The Tropic of Serpents. This novel really kept my interest, and may appeal to readers of Mary Robinette Kowal, Caroline Stevermer, and Patricia Wrede.

Brenda

 


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 160 other followers