Big Fall Cookbooks

Here is a varied list of some of the best cookbooks published this fall. Enjoy! -Brenda

The Baking Bible. Rose Levy Berenbaum

A collection of recipes from simple to elaborate from an author known for her foolproof recipes, with plenty of baking advice and gorgeous photos.

Baking Chez Moi. Dorie Greenspanbaking chez moi jacket

Impressive but not too fussy recipes for a variety of French desserts from a well-known cookbook author who lives part-time in Paris.

Holiday Cookies. Chicago Tribune staff

Three decades of award-winning cookies created by Chicago Tribune readers.

How to Cook Everything Fast. Mark Bittman

Clear, step-by-step recipes with variations make efficient use of a cook’s time, but some of these delicious recipes are not what I’d consider fast.

The Kitchn Cookbook. Sara Kate Gillingham and Faith Durand

Part cookbook and part friendly advice on stocking, organizing, cleaning, and designing kitchens, from the editors of a popular food blog.

Make it Ahead. Ina Garten

75 recipes you can make ahead of time, including a Thanksgiving feast. holiday cookies jacket

One Pot. Editors of Martha Stewart Living

120 recipes for weekday dinners, including desserts, using skillets, slow cookers, large pots, roasting pans, and more.

Plenty More. Yotam Ottolenghi

New recipes from a London chef known for his very creative Mediterranean and Middle Eastern-inspired vegetable dishes.

Prune. Gabrielle Hamilton

Unconventional, minimalist recipes with hand-written notes from a New York chef.

Twelve Recipes. Cal Peternell

Originally written for his son in college, these detailed recipes (actually several dozen) may inspire a love of food and cooking.

 


Discussible Books

October is National Reading Group Month! Learn more about it here.        

I’ve updated a list of discussible books. These are books that have been discussed at the Woodridge Public Library in the past several years, and which have all led to lively discussions. Some of the titles were not universally liked, but that can make for memorable discussions.  Enjoy!  Brenda

Discussible Books 

Fiction

Benjamin, Melanie. The Aviator’s Wife

Chevalier, Tracy. The Last Runaway

Coomer, Joe. Pocketful of Names

deWitt, Patrick. The Sisters Brothers

Doig, Ivan. The Whistling Season

Donnelly, Jennifer. A Northern Light

Dunant, Sarah. Sacred Hearts

Erdrich, Louise. The Round House

Follett, Ken. Pillars of the Earth

Ford, Jamie. Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet

Gloss, Molly. The Hearts of Horses

Hill, Lawrence. Someone Knows My Name

James, P.D. Death Comes to Pemberley

Joyce, Rachel. The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry

King, Laurie. The Beekeeper’s Apprentice

Kingsolver, Barbara. Prodigal Summer

Kline, Christina Baker. Orphan Train

Larsson, Stieg. Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

McLain, Paula. The Paris Wife

Moon, Elizabeth. The Speed of Dark

O’Nan, Stewart. Last Night at the Lobster

Parkin, Gaile. Baking Cakes in Kigali

See, Lisa. Snow Flower and the Secret Fan

Semple, Maria. Where’d You Go, Bernadette

Shaffer, Mary Ann and Annie Barrows. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

Simonson, Helen. Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand

Stockett, Kathryn. The Help

Trigiani, Adriana. The Shoemaker’s Wife

Vreeland, Susan. Clara and Mr. Tiffany; Luncheon of the Boating Party

Walls, Jeannette. Half Broke Horses; Silver Star

 

Non-Fiction

Algeo, Matthew. Harry Truman’s Excellent Adventure

Beavan, Colin. No Impact Man: The Adventures of a Guilty Liberal Who Attempts to Save the Planet, and the Discoveries he makes about himself and our way of life in the process

Cain, Susan. Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking

Caputo, Philip. The Longest Road: Overland in Search of America from Key West to the Arctic Ocean

Child, Julia with Alex Prudhomme. My Life in France

Duhigg, Charles. The Power of Habit: Why We Do What We Do in Life and in Business

Goodman, Matthew. Eighty days: Nellie Bly and Elizabeth Bisland’s History-Making Race Around the World

Hillenbrand, Laura. Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption

Krist, Gary. City of Scoundrels: The Twelve Days of Disaster That Gave Birth to Modern Chicago

Kurson, Robert. Shadow Divers : The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries of World War II

Millard, Candice. Destiny of the Republic: A Tale of Madness, Medicine, and the Murder of a President

Salisbury, Laney & Aly Sujo. Provenance: How a Con Man and a Forger Rewrote the History of Modern Art

 


The Best Books We Read This Year

Here is a list of some of the best books we read this year:

Fiction:

The Art of Fielding by Chad Harbach (Joel)

Bring Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel (Brenda)

Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoevsky (Jeanne)

Bury Your Dead by Louise Penny (Pam)

Captain Vorpatril’s Alliance by Lois McMaster Bujold (Brenda)

Cat’s Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut (Jeanne)

Clara and Mr. Tiffany by Susan Vreeland (Jeanne)

Dark Days by Dewy Roscoe Jones (Jeanne)

Doctor Sleep by Stephen King (George)

Family Pictures by Jane Green (Dawn)

Finding Camlann by Sean Pigeon (Joel)

The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker (Chris)

The Good Lord Bird by James McBride (George)

How the Light Gets In by Louise Penny (Brenda)

Life After Life by Kate Atkinson (Pam)

Life of Pi by Yann Martel (Pam)

Longbourn by Jo Baker (Brenda)

Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri (Chris)

Me Before You by Jo Jo Moyes (Pam)

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan (Brenda)

Night Film by Marisha Pessl (Joel)

Night Train to Lisbon by Pascal Mercier (Joel)

Nothing Gold Can Stay  by Ron Rash (Joel)

The Orphan Master’s Son by Adam Johnson (Joel)

The Sisters Brothers by Patrick DeWitt (Jeanne)

Spider Woman’s Daughter by Anne Hillerman (Jeanne)

State of Wonder by Ann Patchett (Jeanne)

Still Life by Louise Penny (Pam)

Sweet Thunder by Ivan Doig (Pam)

Tenth of December: Stories by George Saunders (Chris)

This Is How You Lose Her by Junot Diaz (Pam)

We Need New Names by NoViolet Bulawayo (Chris)

Wool by Hugh Howey (Joel)

 

Non-Fiction: 

The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown (George)

Command and Control by Eric Schlosser (Joel)

David and Goliath by Malcolm Gladwell (Chris)

Five Days at Memorial by Sheri Fink (George)

Foundation by Peter Ackroyd (Joel)

Frozen in Time by Mitchell Zuckoff (George)

Into the Abyss: An Extraordinary True Story (George)

Londoners by Craig Taylor (Joel)

The Lost Whale: the True Story of an Orca Named Luna by Michael Parfit and Suzanne Chisholm (Beth)

The Longest Road by Philip Caputo (Brenda)

Mauve: How One Man Invented a Color That Changed the World by Simon Garfield (Jeanne)

The New Jim Crow by Michelle Alexander (Jeanne)

The Nutshell Sties of Unexplained Death by Corinne May Botz (Jeanne)

One Summer: America, 1927 by Bill Bryson (Brenda)

Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell (Beth)

Paddle Your Own Canoe by Nick Offerman (Jeanne)

Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain (Dawn)

Slimed!: An Oral History of Nickelodeon’s Golden Age by Mathew Klickstein (Denise)

The Smitten Kitchen Cookbook by Deb Perelman (Brenda)

Through the Eye of a Needle by Peter Brown (Joel)

To End All Wars by Adam Hochschild (Joel)

Vanished by Wil Hylton (George)

The World’s Strongest Librarian by Josh Hanargarne (Dawn)

Zealot: The Life and Times of Jesus by Reza Aslan (Joel)

 

Graphic Novels:

Hawkeye: My Life as a Weapon by Matt Fraction (Denise)

Hawkeye: Little Hits by Matt Fraction (Denise)

The Property by Rutu Modan (Dawn)

 

Young Adult and Children’s Fiction:

The Rithmatist by Brandon Sanderson (Brenda)

Chasing Redbird by Sharon Creech (Jeanne)

 

 Brenda 

 

 

 

 


Discussible Books

Most of the books on this list are favorites from discussions held at the library between 2007 and 2013. A few of the titles are books we haven’t discussed yet, but will soon and are potential favorites. Not every title will appeal to all readers, but all will promote lively discussions.  Brenda

Fiction

Chevalier, Tracy. The Last Runaway

Coomer, Joe. Pocketful of Names

deWitt, Patrick. The Sisters Brothers

Doig, Ivan. The Whistling Season

Donnelly, Jennifer. A Northern Light

Dunant, Sarah. Sacred Hearts

Erdrich, Louise. The Round House

Follett, Ken. Pillars of the Earth

Ford, Jamie. Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet

Gloss, Molly. The Hearts of Horses

Hill, Lawrence. Someone Knows My Name

James, P.D. Death Comes to Pemberley

Joyce, Rachel. The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry

King, Laurie. The Beekeeper’s Apprentice

Kingsolver, Barbara. Prodigal Summer

Larsson, Stieg. Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

McLain, Paula. The Paris Wife

Moon, Elizabeth. The Speed of Dark

O’Nan, Stewart. Last Night at the Lobster

Parkin, Gaile. Baking Cakes in Kigali

See, Lisa. Snow Flower and the Secret Fan

Shaffer, Mary Ann and Annie Barrows. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

Simonson, Helen. Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand

Stockett, Kathryn. The Help

Trigiani, Adriana. The Shoemaker’s Wife

Vreeland, Susan. Clara and Mr. Tiffany; Luncheon of the Boating Party

Walls, Jeannette. Half Broke Horses

 

Non-Fiction

 Algeo, Matthew. Harry Truman’s Excellent Adventure

Beavan, Colin. No Impact Man: The Adventures of a Guilty Liberal Who Attempts to Save the Planet, and the Discoveries he makes about himself and our way of life in the process

Caputo, Philip. The Longest Road: Overland in Search of America from Key West to the Arctic Ocean

Child, Julia. My Life in France

Eggers, Dave. Zeitoun

Goodman, Matthew. Eighty days: Nellie Bly and Elizabeth Bisland’s History-Making Race Around the World

Hillenbrand, Laura. Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption

Krist, Gary. City of Scoundrels: The Twelve Days of Disaster That Gave Birth to Modern Chicago

Kurson, Robert. Shadow Divers : The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries of World War II

Millard, Candice. Destiny of the Republic: A Tale of Madness, Medicine, and the Murder of a President

Peacock, Nancy. A Broom of One’s Own: Words on Writing, Housecleaning, and Life

Salisbury, Laney & Aly Sujo. Provenance: How a Con Man and a Forger Rewrote the History of Modern Art


Spring Book Award News

Several book awards have been announced recently. Here is an up-to-date list of the winners of a wide variety of book awards. More awards will be announced soon; I’ll update this list this summer. Brenda

Award Winning Fiction and Non-Fiction, 2012-2013

Christian Fiction Awards

Christy Awards, 2012

Contemporary: Tatlock, Ann. Promises to Keep.

Contemporary Romance: Kendig, Ronie. Wolfsbane.

Contemporary Series: Clark, Mindy Stars & Leslie Gould. The Amish Midwife.

Historical: Austin, Lynn. Wonderland Creek.

Historical Romance: Klassen, Julie. The Maid of Fairbourne Hall.

Suspense: James, Steven. The Queen.

Visionary: Stengle, Ann Elisabeth. Veiled Rose.

First Novel: Yttrup, Ginny. Words.

Horror Awards

Bram Stoker Awards, 2011

Best Novel: McKinney, Joe. Flesh Eaters. 

Best First Novel: Bird, Allyson. Isis Unbound.

Literary Awards

Carnegie Medal, 2012: Enright, Anne. The Forgotten Waltz.

Man Booker Prize, 2012: Mantel, Hilary. Bring Up the Bodies.

National Book Award for Fiction, 2012: Erdrich, Louise. The Round House.

National Book Award for Non-Fiction, 2012: Boo, Katherine. Behind the Beautiful Forevers.

Nobel Prize for Literature, 2012: Mo Yan

Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, 2013: Johnson, Adam. The Orphan Master’s Son.

Pulitzer Prize for General Nonfiction, 2013: Kings, Gilbert. Devil in the Grove

(for more Pulitzer awards, visit the Pulitzer website.)

Women’s Prize for Fiction, 2012: Miller, Madeline. The Song of Achilles.

 Mystery Awards

Agatha Awards, 2012

Best Novel: Penny, Louise. The Beautiful Mystery.

Best First Novel: Boyer, Susan M. Lowcountry Boil.

Anthony Awards, 2012

Best Novel: Penny, Louise. A Trick of the Light.

Best First Novel: Henry, Sara. Learning to Swim.

Best Paperback Original: Hyzy, Julie. Buffalo West Wing.

Edgar Allan Poe Awards, 2013

Best Novel: Lehane, Dennis. Live by Night.

Best First Novel: Pavone, Chris. The Expats.

Best Paperback Original: Winters, Ben H. The Last Policeman.

Best Fact Crime: French, Paul. Midnight in Peking.

Romance Awards

Rita Awards, 2012

Best First Book: Jones, Darynda. First Grave on the Right.

Contemporary Series Romance: Morgan, Sarah. Doukakis’s Apprentice. 

Contemporary Series Romance: Suspense/Adventure: Dees, Cindy. Soldier’s Last Stand.

Contemporary Single Title Romance: Lowe, Fiona. Boomerang Bride.

Historical Romance: Bourne, Joanna. The Black Hawk.

Inspirational Romance: Miller, Serena. The Measure of Katie Calloway.

Novel with Strong Romantic Elements: O’Neal, Barbara. How To Bake a Perfect Life.

Paranormal Romance: Harrison, Thea. Dragon Bound .

Regency Historical Romance: Dare, Tessa. A Night to Surrender.

Romance Novella: Linden, Caroline. I Love the Earl.

Romantic Suspense: Robb, J.D. New York To Dallas.

Science Fiction & Fantasy Awards

Arthur C. Clarke Award, 2013

Beckett, Chris. Dark Eden.

Hugo Awards, 2012

Novel: Walton, Jo. Among Others.

Novella: Johnson, Kij. “The Man Who Bridged the Mist”, in Asimov’s, Sept./Oct. 2011.

Novelette: Anders, Charlie Jane. “Six Months, Three Days”, on Tor.com.

Best Short Story: Liu, Ken. “The Paper Menagerie”, in The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, March/April 2011.

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, 2012: E. Lily Yu.

Nebula Awards, 2011

Novel: Walton, Jo. Among Others.

Novella: Johnson, Kij. “The Man Who Bridged the Mist,” in Asimov’s Science Fiction, October/November 2011.

Novelette: Ryman, Geoff  “What We Found,” in The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, September/October 2011.

World Fantasy Award, 2012

Novel: Tidhar, Lavie. Osama.

Novella: Parker, K.J. “A Small Price to Pay for Birdsong” in Subterranean Press, Winter 2011.

 Western Awards

Spur Awards, 2012

Best Western Long Novel. Harrigan, Stephen. Remember Ben Clayton.

Best Original Paperback Novel: Boggs, Johnny. West Texas Kill.

Best Western Short Novel: Boggs, Johnny. Legacy of a Lawman.

Best First Novel: Mims, Meg. Double Crossing.

 


Readalikes for The Shoemaker’s Wife

The Big Read Selection for 2013 is The Shoemaker’s Wife by Adriana Trigiani, a novel about Italian American immigrants in the early 1900s. Here are some more novels you might enjoy:

Alcott, Kate. The Dressmaker.  Titanic survivor in New York City.

Cohen, Paula. Gramercy Park.  Set in the 1890s, famous Italian tenor rents house near Gramercy Park while singing at the Metropolitan Opera, falls in love.

Duenas, Maria. The Time in Between.  Spanish fashion designer stranded in 1930s Morocco, opens dress shop.

Forster, E.M. A Room With a View.  Written and set in early 1900s, an Italian pensione caters to British tourists.

Gentle, Mary. The Black Opera.  Nineteenth century Italy, opera librettist.

Mazzucoo, Melania. Vita.  Two children from southern Italy try to survive in New York City’s Little Italy in 1903.

McDonnell, Adrienne. The Doctor and the Diva.  Early 1900s opera singer seeks treatment for infertility.

Mignola, Mike and Christopher Golden. Father Gaetano’s Puppet Catechism.  Young priest teaches orphans at a convent during World War II, redesigns old handcrafted puppets to tell Bible stories, but the puppets come to life in this horror novella.

Moser, Nancy. An Unlikely Suitor.  Italian American dressmakers in 19th century NYC and Newport, Rhode Island.

Olafsson, Olaf. Restoration.  Set in Tuscany in 1944.

Pezzelli, Peter. Home to Italy.  Recently widowed Peppi returns to his native Italian village and finds that his old friend and fellow mountain biker Luca now owns a candy factory run by his lovely daughter Lucrezia.

Russell, Mary Doria. A Thread of Grace.  Northern Italy in the 1930s and 1940s. Many thousands of Jewish refugees fled here during World War II.

Schoenewaldt, Pamela. When We Were strangers.  Italian American immigrant finds work as seamstress in 1880s Cleveland and Chicago.

Trigiani, Adriana. Lucia, Lucia.  Italian American seamstress looks back on her life in NYC.

Trigiani, Adriana. Very Valentine.  Family owned shoe company in New York City, started in 1903 by Italian American immigrants.

Walters, Jess. Beautiful Ruins.  1960 Italy and modern day United States.

Brenda


Recent African American Fiction

In honor of Black History Month, here is a list of recent African American Fiction. There are lots of young adult titles this year.

General Fiction

Dickey, Eric Jerome. An Accidental Affair.

Jackson, Neta. Come to the Table. on order

Johnson, T. Geronimo. Hold It ‘Til It Hurts.

Monroe, Mary. God Don’t Make Mistakes.

Morrison, Toni. Home.

Perlman, Elliot. The Street Sweeper.

Roby, Kimberla Lawson. The Perfect Marriage.

Weber, Carl. The Family Business; The Man in 3B.

Historical Fiction

Austin, Lynn. All Things New.

Mathis, Ayana. The Twelve Tribes of Hattie.

Mystery

Wimberley, Darryl. Devil’s Slew

Paperback Romance

Day, Zuri. Love on the Run.

Evans, Harmony. Lesson in Romance.

Girard, Dara. Secret Paradise.

Hart, Regina. Smooth Play.

Hill, Donna. Everything is You.

Perrin, Kayla. Surrender My Heart.

Rochon, Farrah. A Forever Kind of Love.

Washington, AlTonya. His Texas Touch.

Science Fiction

Mosley, Walter. Merge; Disciple.

Urban Fiction

K’wan. Animal.

Morrison, Mary. If I Can’t Have You.

Souljah, Sister. A Deeper Love Inside. on order

Young Adult

Carter, Nikki. On the Flip Side.

Flake, Sharon. Pinned.

Hartman, Brett. Cadillac Chronicles.

Magoon, Kekla. Fire in the Streets.

Nelson, Vaunda Micheaux. No Crystal Stair.

Simone, Nin-Ni. Hollywood High.

Volponi, Paul. The Final Four

Walker, Brian. Black Boy/ White School.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 162 other followers